Scientific Advisory Board

Discovery Research and Translational Biology

Alan D. D’Andrea, M.D.

Chair of IDEAYA SAB | Professor, Harvard Medical School and Member, National Academy of Medicine

Alan D’Andrea, M.D. is the Fuller-American Cancer Society Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and the Director of the Center for DNA Damage and Repair at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston. His research is focused on the identification of genetic vulnerabilities in human cancers including leukemia, ovarian, and breast cancer. Dr. D’Andrea is a member of the Board of Scientific Counselors of the National Cancer Institute and is a recipient of the G.H.A. Clowes Award from the American Association of Cancer Research. He currently co-leads the Stand up to Cancer Ovarian Cancer Dream Team with Dr. Elizabeth Swisher.

William R. Sellers, M.D.

Core Institute Member, Broad Institute, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, and Harvard Medical School

Dr. Sellers is a Core Institute Member at the Broad Institute and faculty member of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School. From 2005-2016, Dr. Sellers directed cancer drug discovery and early cancer clinical development at the Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research, during which the oncology research group brought more than 30 cancer therapeutics into first-in-man trials including therapeutics targeting the PI3K, CDK4, IDH, ABL, SMO, HER3, ALK, Wnt, PIM and Ras pathways among others. Along with Dr. Carl June, he co-chaired the CART collaboration with the University of Pennsylvania that brought CTL019 to a recent FDA approval.

Prior to Novartis, Dr. Sellers was an Associate Professor of Medicine at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School and an Associate Member of the Broad Institute where he initiated large-scale projects which led to discovery of EGFR mutations in lung adenocarcinoma and the discovery of the oncogenic role of the MITF gene in melanoma. In addition, his work advanced the understanding of the molecular mechanisms of growth regulation of the PTEN tumor suppressor gene. Dr. Sellers was a member of the National Cancer Advisory Board from 2011 to 2016. Dr. Sellers received his B.S. from Georgetown University in 1982 and M.D. from the University of Massachusetts Medical School in 1986. He completed residency training in Internal Medicine at the University of California San Francisco in 1989 and trained in Medical Oncology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

Frank McCormick, Ph.D., FRS, DSc (Hon)

Professor, University of California at San Francisco

Dr. McCormick is a Professor in the University of California, at San Francisco (UCSF), Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center and holds the David A. Wood Chair of Tumor Biology and Cancer Research at UCSF. Prior to joining UCSF, Frank was Founder and Chief Scientific Officer at Onyx Pharmaceuticals, building on his earlier research and leadership experiences at Cetus and Chiron. At Onyx, initiated and led drug discovery efforts that led to the approval of Sorafenib for treatment of renal cell cancer and liver cancer. Dr. McCormick has served as President of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) and has a leadership role at the Frederick National Lab for Cancer Research, overseeing an NCI supported national effort to develop therapies against Ras-driven cancers.

Trey Ideker, Ph.D.

Professor, University California at San Diego

Trey Ideker, Ph.D., is a Professor in Medicine, Bioengineering and Computer Science at UCSD; Co-Director of the Cancer Genomes and Networks Program at UCSD Moores Comprehensive Cancer Center, and Director of the San Diego Center for Systems Biology. His lab develops technology to build molecular network maps of the cell and to use these networks to translate genotype to phenotype in cancer. He has founded influential bioinformatic tools including Cytoscape, a popular network analysis platform which has been cited >12,000 times. Ideker serves on the Editorial Boards for Cell, Cell Reports, Molecular Systems Biology, and PLoS Computational Biology and is a Fellow of AAAS and AIMBE. He was named one of the Top 10 Innovators of 2006 by Technology Review magazine and was the recipient of the 2009 Overton Prize from the International Society for Computational Biology.

Jeffrey Hager, Ph.D.

Jeff is a San Diego-based biopharma consultant with over 20-years of experience in tumor biology, cancer pharmacology, & oncology discovery. Before joining the IDEAYA Biosciences SAB, he was Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer and Head of Target Discovery and External Innovation at IDEAYA Biosciences. Prior to that he was Senior Vice President and Head of Biology at IDEAYA. Before his involvement with IDEAYA, he was VP of Biology at Seragon Pharmaceuticals, which was acquired by Roche/Genentech, where he oversaw all in vitro and in vivo biology and pharmacology that lead to the discovery of 2 novel, clinical stage selective estrogen receptor degraders (SERDs) developed as treatment for hormone receptor positive breast cancer. Previously, Jeff was Senior Director at Aragon Pharmaceuticals which was acquired by Johnson & Johnson. At Aragon, his team was central in pre-clinical development of the novel anti-androgen apalutamide (Erleada™), an FDA approved treatment for early-stage castration resistant prostate cancer. Previously, he was Associate Director of Biology at Apoptos, Inc. and before that a Principal Scientist and Head of Cancer Pharmacology at Kalypsys, Inc.

He did graduate studies at Princeton and University of California at Berkeley, the later from which he received a PhD in molecular and cell biology. He was a postdoctoral fellow and staff scientist at the University of California at San Francisco and is an author of publications in Annual Review of Cancer Biology, eLife, Science, Nature Genetics, Cancer Cell, Cancer Research and Cancer Discovery.

Clinical Development

Brian Daniels, M.D.

Director | Former SVP, Global Development and Medical Affairs, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Brian Daniels, M.D., served as Senior Vice President of Global Development and Medical Affairs and Research and Development of Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. from March 2008 to July 1, 2014. He served as Senior Vice President of Global Clinical Development, Research and Development of Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. from 2004 to 2008. He also served as a Member of Management Council at Bristol-Myers Squibb Company. He held positions directing and conducting clinical research at Merck and Genentech. He directed the development of innovative medicines, including Apixaban®, Onglyza®, Myalept® and Farxiga® (CV/metabolics), Orencia® and Nulogix® (immunology), Abilify®(neuroscience), Baraclude®, Reyataz®, Daclatasvir® and Asunaprevir® (virology) and Sprycel®, Ixempra®, Yervoy®, elotuzumab and nivolumab (oncology). He serves on the Board of Directors of Novo Nordisk, among others. He completed residency programs at The New York Hospital of Cornell Medical College and at UCSF. Dr. Daniels has an M.D. from Washington University and an M.S. and B.S. from MIT.

Elizabeth Swisher, M.D.

Professor, University of Washington

Elizabeth Swisher, M.D., is a gynecologic oncologist, Professor of Gynecologic Oncology, and adjunct Professor of Medical Genetics at the University of Washington in Seattle. Dr. Swisher’s research focused on understanding the role of the BRCA-Fanconi anemia pathway in ovarian cancer and how defects in DNA repair can be exploited in the therapy and prevention of ovarian carcinoma. She is co-Leader of Stand up to Cancer’s first Ovarian Cancer Dream Team. She is principal investigator on several PARP inhibitor therapeutic trials and collaborates on the translational research for numerous other clinical trials in ovarian and other cancers.